Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is true that there is a range of food wasted by individuals bought from shops and restaurants. This is happening because of a drop in the food price and several solutions should be adopted by authorities to improve the situation.

There are two primary reasons why inhabitants throw away an excessive amount of food. The chief reason is that the proliferation of cultivation technologies manufactured a lot of food with the inexpensive enable people to buy a surplus amount of food despite their real need. For example, various wealthy people often buy excessive amounts of food. Instead of consuming vast quantities of food, individuals will throw it into the trash can without a second thought. Furthermore, consumers are failing to make a detailed plan of what they are going to buy before they shop. As a result, their shopping carts are often full of food products that they might never use, and because of laziness, they do not put away all the food into the fridge, resulting in the expiry of the food after which they are thrown as waste.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to alleviate this problem. The foremost solution is that the government should hold an anti-food waste campaign and encourage buyers to take part in it to raise consumers’ awareness about the value of food. Moreover, the media should report more about food shortages in deprived areas to remind consumers not to waste food. The second measure is that users can develop some action plans before buying items to avoid redundant purchase. Furthermore, people who buy plenty of food have to check the expiration date of the food when they go shopping. It helps people definitely about the date of expiry on food and guarantee to use.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the waste of food, and steps need to be taken by the government and individuals to address this problem. In my opinion, the food in waste issue will be improved greatly within the next few years if these ideas are properly implemented.