Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

In the modern day, technology is extensively being used to track the actions of individuals. Oftentimes, this is left unnoticed by the people being monitored. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that collecting data about people lowers the crime rates to a substantial degree. Illegal actions such as robbery, manslaughter, fraud, assault can be prevented by security services. Furthermore, citizens are given the opportunity to be warned about emergency situations and get to know the course of actions necessary to survive. For instance, by tracking the location of a cell phone, authorities can inform people about the incoming earthquakes or many other natural disasters.

On the other hand, it is also clear that monitoring individuals completely contradicts the terms of personal privacy. Governments all around the world may take advantage of this and put limitations on, for example, internet-resources that we consume. As a result, the term “freedom of speech” loses its bare meaning, not to mention other serious consequences such as riots.

In conclusion, despite all of the downsides that data-tracking may have, overall, it is a positive development. It ensures the well-being and security of citizens, even though the dignity of personal information might get flawed.