Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement of technology in recent years, there are several ways to govern a person’s everyday life without their realising it. Although I firmly think these advancements have more beneficial effects than negative ones, there may be some downsides.

Technology first modernises surveillance systems by enhancing camera systems.They can consequently endure a long human life. By placing these covert cameras in public areas and calling them CCTV, they assist police and detectives in apprehending robberies and murderers by playing back the recorded footage from crime scenes and making it easier to apprehend the perpetrators. As an example, all public spaces in South Korea are required to have CCTV installed, including streets, cafes, and shopping centres. These locations have keys that residents can press to report feeling unsafe and notify the local police station. As a result, South Korea is among the world’s ten safest places to live.

However, monitoring a mobile makes users feel uneasy.More senior adults than ever before think that technology is encroaching on their personal independence. When they are on the phone and their voice call is being recorded by the government, they believe this to be unsettling and insecure. As a result, people are unable to express their opinions openly or discuss political matters. They wish to halt technological advancement as a result in order to avoid feeling pursued and in charge.

In conclusion, all of this digital surveillance may rule out nations and make people feel safer in their everyday lives in public, despite a number of negative effects of scientific advancements and the loss of privacy in public life. Without a doubt, I trust these security measures.