Nowadays the number of old people is increasing in the society. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a trend connected with prevalence of older people in population across the world. This tendency has both drawbacks and upsides as well, but I strongly believe that it affects society negatively, because it means that overall number of younger generations is decreasing and less taxes will be paid to government.

On one hand, growing number of seniors have such advantages as a good healthcare of the country and longer lifespans of people. If longevity is increasing it can be beneficial as a sign of highly developed medical care in the country, which is always beneficial for overall population. For example, countries with the most number of older people like Japan , have considerably high quality of medicine accessible for people. It sounds beneficial for all people, because everyone would like to live in country with high-standard of medical care.

On the other hand, country encounter financial problems with overall ageing of population. For instance, lots of retired old people do not work and taxes are waived for them, it negatively impacts the economy of the country. Country has less money coming in budget and therefore cannot allocate funds adequately due to its lack.

In addition, it can be a sign of population decline, because there is significant decline in fertility rates. For example, if there is less children and adults living in the country, that means less people decide to give a birth to children. It has a negative influence on overall population and leads to decreased population rate.

In conclusion, despite of ageing of population has its advantages I side with the statement that outline its negative impact, be it financial struggles or population decline.