Nowadays the number of old people is increasing in the society. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a trend connected with the prevalence of older people in the population across the world. This tendency has both drawbacks and upsides as well, but I strongly believe that it affects society negatively because it means that the overall number of younger generations is decreasing, and fewer taxes will be paid to the government.

On the one hand, the growing number of seniors demonstrate such advantages as good healthcare in the country and longer lifespans of people. If longevity is increasing, it can be beneficial as a sign of highly developed medical care in the country, which is always beneficial for the overall population. For example, countries with the most number of older people,like Japan, have considerably high-quality medical care accessible for people. It sounds beneficial for all people because everyone would like to live in a country with a high standard of medical care.

On the other hand, the country encounters financial problems with the overall aging of the population. For instance, as a rule retired people do not work, and taxes are waived for them, which negatively impacts the economy of the country. The country has less money coming into the budget and, therefore, cannot allocate funds to all needed fields adequately due to its lack.

In addition, it can be a sign of population decline because there is a significant decline in fertility rates. For example, if there are fewer young families living in the country, that means fewer people decide to give birth to children. It has a negative influence on the overall population and leads to a decreased population rate. For this reason, the more people are in the country – the more prosperous the country is.

In conclusion, despite the aging of the population having its advantages, I side with the statement that outlines its negative impact, be it financial struggles or population decline.