Nowadays, the size of families is shrinking and thus becoming nuclear family rather than the extended one. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In this day and age, the size of families is becoming smaller. Many people live in nuclear families, instead of families that have grandparents. I think this trend has a single negative side; however, its positives are far more crucial to consider.

On the one hand, there is a single major negative side. This negative is lack of affection for children by grandparents. When people live in nuclear families, there will not be grandparents. Nowadays, the affection of grandparents is crucial for children becuace, during their childhood, their parents want to earn money and go to work. Hence, they will need the affection of grandparents.

But, nevertheless, though there is a single major negative of nuclear family, the positives of this trend are more important to consider. There are two major advantages of this trend. The first and foremost one is being more freedom and privacy. When parents and their children do not live with their grandparents, parents need to learn how to make decisions and how to manage their families. As a consequence, they will be more independent people.

In addition to this, better financial planning is another major benefit of this trend. If people live nuclear families, there will be less people than ordinary families. Therefore, there will be less expenditure for different needs. As a result, there will be much more money to spend for children for their education or something else.

In conclusion, having discussed both sides of this argument, I still believe that positive sides of nuclear families are more important than the opposite one owing to the reasons mentioned above.