Nowadays, the traditions and customs relating to the food we eat and the way we eat are changing. Why is this happening? Do you think this kind of change is positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently the heritage and practices that relates to the food we consume and the manner we consume it is undergoing changes. This could be due to the quest for materialism, however, I absolutely believe it is not a positive development.

The main reason which account for these changes is the desire to amassed wealth which has made people overwork themselves. In the time past, the rate at which individuals and companies operates was not as fierce and competitive as the way it is nowadays. Currently, this inert desire has made corporations to intensify schedules of work because of the annual high targets that must be delivered, they are left with the only choice of making high demands on their workers thereby increasing their work load. Furthermore, individuals large appetite for outrageous taste for goods and properties is a factor that push them to work round the clock which invariably affects family relations.This negatively affects the normal practice where families and friends sit round table to feast on meals prepared by themselves. Therefore, the tradition of taking meals together is fast fading away not to talk of traditional cuisines they are used to.

I strongly believe that this development has terribly affected people. This is so for the reason that socializing with other members of the same family is giving way to individualized lifestyle. During meals families take time to talk about their plans, challenges and even parents utilized it to correct erring members. When such opportunities are loss, it makes them adapt an attitude of solitude which could result to depression, even though they stay under the same roof.

In conclusion, the traditions and customs that relates to the food we consume and how we consume them is altered currently because of the desire to acquire riches. Personally, it is not a beneficial development as it adversely affect social life of the populace.