Nowadays, there are large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centers. Why are these so many of these outlets? What effects is this having on the society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today’s young generation loves eating fast food and enjoy spending time at coffee shops especially with their group of friends. With the growing economy and development, the accessibility and availability of these fast-food outlets have also increased over the time. However, there are certain positive and negative impacts which these lifestyle changes are creating on the society.

With the onset of globalisation, the influence of western culture and habits have spread across various countries. People are now preferring eating more fast food than the healthy meals. Seeing this growing demand for the coffee culture and unhealthy diets, many small food vendors and big coffee companies have seized the opportunity to set-up their ventures on the well-known streets in the cities.

On one hand, this rise in the competition of the sellers is ensuring the safety of customers’ interest where they are able to gauge the correct price of the food items along with additional price benefits which are offered by different shops and vendors to have a competitive advantage. This in turn is also affecting people’s spending habits. Now people especially the young ones are highly spending their money on the fast-food items and coffee which is benefitting the economy with the continuous rotation of the means.

On the other hand, youngsters are now heavily dependent on the market junk consumption and developing unhealthy food habits. Hence, there are now growing concerns in the society due to the increased cases of obesity among the youngsters. Nonetheless, there is also a rise in the risk of people developing acute or chronic diseases in the long run. Taking my own example, I had never thought that having a street side Maggie after my college hours would land in hospital due to sever food poisoning and consequent infection in my stomach.

To conclude, it is economically beneficial for the society to have greater number of fast food and coffee shops. However, it is very important for people to understand the detrimental effects the fast food can have on their lives and they should consume them in limit.