Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is worth noting that there is an increasing amount of waste being produced in our societies today, resulting in pollution and environmental degredation. This phenominon is largly owing to people’s uncontrolled consumption patterns and untidy behaviours. The government should take actions to tackle this issue in order to maintain a clean environment.

To begin with, people are producing more rubbish because they consume more goods. For instance, the improvement of living standards over the years has equipped residents with higher purchasing power, resulting in many shopping for items they don’t necessarily need. Consequently, more rubbish are produced by customers. Furthermore, some people do not adhere to proper waste disposal methods, leading to littering in public spaces such as streets, rivers and parks. These two factors predominatly contribute to more rubbish production.

There are two effective solutions to the problem of waste. One way to tackle this issue is providing education to the public and informing them about the importance of sustainable way of living and environmental cleaniness. One excellent example of this involves community campaigns, through which residents are able to gain a deeper understanding of the scarcity of natural resources and the consequences of exploiting them. In addition, the government can also impose waste management regulations which can correct littering behaviours through heavy fines and imprisonment. Once residents absorb the serious implications of littering, they will in turn reduce and stop throwing rubbish around.

In conclusion, the problem of more rubbish production nowadays can be attributed to unsustainable consumption and unregulated behaviours. As a result, the government should promote environmental sustainability education as well as enforce laws to combat the issue of waste.