Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is a matter of growing concern that litter has become a pressing issue which threatens many countries. This essay will examine the primary causes behind this phenomenon before proposing practical measures to mitigate it.

There are several primary reasons why rubbish has become such a prominent issue today. The foremost cause is the overpopulation and lack of awareness. This essentially means that more people produce waste products and sewage than the country could handle and recycle. A prominent example is a recent university dissertation investigating the correlation between litter, birth rates and social awareness revealed a positive correlation between the factors. What can be seen is that in some developing states which have the higher birth rates and feeble awareness towards this issue suffer the most from its detrimental effects. Consequently, many people are throwing rubbish on the streets, domestic animals are eating it and dangerous diseases are spreading.

Despite the severity of this situation, there are viable steps that can be taken to address it, primarily through establishing recycling facilities and investing more cash into family-awareness campaigns. By implementing this, a reward system will be produced to the public which it will aim to motivate individuals to keep the streets exquisite, collect and deliver it to the appointed facilities. For instance, Canada’s Government implemented this system 10 years ago and its results were marvelous. Over time, many people started to change their behavior, encourage each other into recycling and eventually a reduction in presence of litter in street by seventy percent.

In conclusion, rubbish is a hideous issue that affects the overall cleanness of the country, spreads illness and lowers personal hygiene, I suggest the governments take serious actions through publicity and spreading awareness.