Nowadays, we don't know a lot about our neighbors anymore. Why? How to address this?

In today’s modern world, we are no longer get closed with our neighbors. This essay aims to explore the reasons behind this trend and suggest some possible solutions in order to tackle this issue.

Firstly, because of the busy nature of daily work, they lack of time to connect with people who live around us. Indeed, nowadays, people usually start a normal day by commuting to work, then return to home when the night gets dark, they do not have enough time in order to greet those who reside next to them. Moreover, some individuals prefer staying at home alone, and they are not interested in interacting with neighbors, and so they value living independently from their neighbors, and remain privacy. In today’s modern world, since the Internet are dominating gradually in society, people tend to connect with the neighbors via social media and avoid face-to-face contact. By the same tokens that pull them far away in living in a neighborhood.

Secondly, there are some possible methods with the aim of narrowing the gap among people, living in a neighborhood. The authorities who take responsibility for neighborhood management can organize frequently community events to stick the relationships close. Subsequently, people will be provided more opportunities to greet each other, share meals together and extend their social connections. Getting closed networks among neighbors are extremely important, people will be open-minded when ask for a helping hand. For instance, in Korea, when a person who just moved to a nighborhood, they usually tend to send meals, such as tokbokki as their welcoming gifts to those who live around them to greet each other. Therefore, the authorities may considerer some solutions that can stick neighbors closed together and improve the quality of a neighborhood.

In conclusion, nowadays, there are major reasons that make people do not known fully about those who live next to them. I strongly believe that with some possible methods provided above, neighbors will improve their relationships with each other.