Obesity is a major global epidemic. Why? What can be done to tackle this problem?

In contemporary society, obesity has been widely deemed a problematic epidemic in recent times. It is caused by an individual’s unbalanced diet and insufficient physical activities; however, there are certain solutions for these two problems.

One of the major issues is unhealthy meals. A fast-paced lifestyle may force people to devote all their time to working rather than cooking proportionally, so junk food becomes an optimal option due to its convenience. Nevertheless, it contains an excessive amount of nutrition, which possibly causes chronic diseases later on. Citizens who overly consume fried chicken and coke, which contain a high amount of saturated fat and sugar, for instance, may suffer cardiovascular diseases. One possible solution is that people can have a wide range of choices for healthier meals when eating out. Various food stalls and restaurants are available to satisfy both customers’ convenience and balance nutrients.

Another main problem worth considering is a lack of exercise. People need to unwind after an exhausting day, while smart devices contain entertaining content and comfort. As a consequence, they may be engrossed in online games and TV programs rather than engaging in physical activities. Without regular exercise, people cannot keep fit, and becoming overweight is inevitable. To encourage the public to exercise more, sports facilities, such as gyms, should be built with low budgets and modern equipment to make them more easily accessible. Additionally, it can be much more effective to have a partner as they can both motivate each other to practice frequently to stay healthy.

In conclusion, obesity has been receiving significant concern worldwide in the past few decades. This issue can be explained by an unhealthy diet and the ignorance of physical activities, resulting from a sedentary lifestyle. It is therefore essential that people take healthier portions when eating out and get involved in more physical activities at fitness facilities to keep fit and stay healthy.