Obesity is a serious problem in many countries, especially in rich countries. What causes obesity and how can it be solved?

It cannot be denied that obesity is a serious problem that people are facing these days.A recent study from the World Health Organization shows that the percentage of obese people has increased drastically in the 21st century. In this essay some of the causes and possible solutions to this phenomena will be discussed.

To begin with, the leading cause of obesity is the rapid increase id fast food chains such as Mcdonalds, Burger King and Pizza Hut. To illustrate, in the United States, there is at least 15 spots for each of these companies mentioned in each state alone. Another reason for the increased number of obese people is the sedentary lifestyle. For instance, the average employed person routine is commute to work, sit for long hours in front of a computer screen, get back home and sleep. This lifestyle does not leave time for exercise and is unhealthy.

However, some steps could be made to mitigate the obesity problem. Firstly, holding public seminars and nation-wide programing educating people especially children about the dangers of fast food. Broadcasting advertisements showing the potential medical illnesses brought by unhealthy food may deter some of buying such food. Secondly, employers could also take some measures on their part. For example, companies could lessen their daily work hours and encourage sports by partnering with fitness centers to offer free access for their employees.

In conclusion, although obesity is a serious problem in today’s world, measures such as educating the public and encouraging sport could easily be taken to reduce this issue.