One long-distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution.So some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourist travel, rather than to limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a fact that the amount of fuel emissions one long-distance flight releases is equal to that of a car in many years. It is therefore suggested that the governments should implement a law reducing the use of unimportant flights instead of cars. While this thinking is valid to certain extent, I would like to challenge this school of thoughts.

Admittedly, it is understandable why some people claim that non-essential flights should be limited. The primary reason is ghat these flights are able to result in the detrimental outcomes on environment which has been significantly damaged by human’s activities. To illustrate, one long-distance flight can release a large amount of fuel emission which is much higher than another means of transportation such as cars or motorbikes, while there are thousands of both domestic and international flights each year. Therefore, should the authorities still do nothing to minimize flights which are unnecessary, the environment and human’s habitats will be soon ruined considerably.

However, I side with those who do not endorse this assertion. First of all, travel enthusiasts will point to its crucial role in entertainment. To illustrate, traveling provide individuals with the opportunity to not only unwind and escape from the hustle and bustle of daily life but also explore the novelty of different places around the world. Secondly, there are some regions which we cannot reach without using aviation services, like the Pole, for example. That is not mention to how significantly tourists foster nation’s revenues as well as facilitate local residents to earn their livelihood. In addition, if the governments institute a rule discouraging citizens to utilize traveling flights, people have to use their private vehicles to commute for a long distance. This not only is inconvenient but also emits much more pollution into the atmosphere.

In conclusion, even though the idea of introducing a legal rule regarding prohibiting people from using non-essential flights is understandable, I still disagree with this view.