Online learning is just as effective as traditional classroom learning. Do you agree or disagree?

With technology developing in a blink of an eye in today’s fast paced world, rises new opportunities and ideas on sharing media and obtaining education. It is believed by some, that online learning can be just as effective as traditional classroom learning, which we’re all familiar with. I on the other hand disagree and here’s why…

The effectiveness of this style of teaching depends on various factors, such as: the student’s discipline, their preferred style of learning, their ability to concentrate on tasks, because it is much easier to focus on the subject when you’re in an environment that is equipped to fit the student’s needs only. when you’re in the comfort of your own home, it’s much more likely, that you will get distracted by your surroundings. All of what I listed above is individual, which doesn’t make online learning suitable for everybody.

Another point I would like to add to back up my opinion on the given topic is the lack of sociability. In a world where everything is practically being digitalized, even communicating, it is getting more and more difficult for people to socialize. Attending lessons and learning face-to-face will have a significant role in solving this problem, as well as helping with lack of concentration since it forces you to be engaged in the conversation during the entire lesson, while also adding on other benefits, for instance having an individual program to fit your pace and methods of learning and having immediate feedback on your work.

To sum up, while online learning can be more flexible and convenient for some, I personally believe that it fails to foster the personal interactions and communication, which is much needed when educating the youth.