Online learning is just as effective as traditional classroom learning. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast paced world, technology is developing in a blink of an eye, hence rises new opportunities and ideas on sharing media and obtaining education. Some individuals contend, that online learning can be just as effective as traditional classroom learning, which we’re all familiar with. However, I firmly oppose to this view, for several compelling reasons.

The effectiveness of this style of teaching depends on various factors, such as: a student’s self-discipline, their preferred style of learning, their ability to maintain focus whilst working on tasks, because it is much easier to concentrate on the subject when you’re in an environment that is equipped to fit the student’s needs only. Moreover, working from the comfort of your own home, it’s much more likely, that your surroundings will distract you. All of what I listed above is individual, which proves, that online learning is not suitable for everybody.

Another point I would like to add to back up my opinion on the given topic is the lack of sociability. In an era, when technology is taking over people’s lives in many different aspects and digitalizing them, it is getting more and more difficult for people to socialize. Attending lessons and learning face-to-face will have a significant role in solving this problem, additionally forcing you to stay engaged in the conversation throughout the duration of the entire lesson, adding on other benefits, for instance having an individual program to fit your pace and methods of learning and having immediate feedback on your work.

To sum up, while online learning can be more flexible and convenient for some, I personally believe that it fails to foster the personal interactions and communication, which is much needed when educating the youth.