Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation?

In today’s era, working professionals are rising in both genders in all fields. But still, there is less women recruitment in Tech jobs with around 20% market data. The root cause is not just when women apply for jobs, but earlier, during the educational decision-making process. And solutions to encourage more women in technology is career counseling, parental guidance and shifting societal norms.

I believe, its root cause started not when women apply for jobs but in early decision time of education and career, they wanted pursue i.e. during there schooling time or after 10th when women need to select electives from science, commerce and arts. This is the time when most of the students are confused and required career guidance from their parents, elder siblings and teachers and most of the people think that women will give best in organizing and management-based job roles in future which will come under commerce and arts mostly including biology science stream for few. Very less women choose technical stream like core science which is major factor of less women in technology field. From an instance, a female child is good in computers and scoring good marks during school time but when she needed to choose the stream, she got confuse due to many factors and then her parents suggest her to go for commerce for secure life ahead in banking and finance which will be a risker to get in science.

There will be many solutions to get more women in tech field which includes career counseling during school time to students, furthermore parents need to guide their child to understand pros and cons of every stream including opportunities they can pursue in future even if they will go for what they feel now is risker to opt for. For an instance, if schools will provide career counselling sessions from 9th and 10th class to students and allow students to clear doubts if any during questions and answers round then it will help a lot for future of students in right way. It will definitely help in rise of women percentage in tech field.

To conclude, the lack of women in technology field starts early, with career decision from parent’s expectations and stereotypes. It will get solved when schools, parents, and society to work together to encourage more young women to pursue their passion, even if it’s in the technically challenging fields.