Opinions vary on whether students should take a gap year before going into higher education. Discuss the possible advantages and disadvantages oftaking a year out. Do you believe that taking a gap year is a good idea?

Many students choose to take a year out before going to university. To do so can be a positive and rewarding

experience but there are also downsides to consider.

Some people will spend their time travelling whilst others will seek work experience. Travelling, especially to

foreign countries, is advantageous because it broadens your outlook on life and its possibilities. It will make you

more aware of different cultures and people and should increase your confidence, especially in social situations.

If you choose to spend your year out working this can also bring benefits. Work experience can help you to

confirm that you have made the right degree choice. Working in an area related to your degree can also be

helpful when it comes to finding a permanent job at the end of your course. A job can also improve your

financial situation.

However, there are downsides to delaying your entry into university. One obvious problem is that you will have

grown out of the habit of studying. There is a risk that the lure of paid employment will sway you from going to

university altogether. If you spent your year out travelling then a future employer might look less favourably on

you than a candidate who spent their time working .

I believe that a gap year can be a good idea as long as you do something productive that will be to you r

advantage in the future. Taking a year out can give you a better feel for life in the world in general and also in

the workplace. You may never have the opportunity to take time out again so I would recommend it, but only if