Opinions vary on whether students should take a gap year before going into higher education. Discuss the possible advantages and disadvantages oftaking a year out. Do you believe that taking a gap year is a good idea?

It is common nowadays that students take a year off before continue their academic journey into higher education. There are arguments in favor and against this action which this essay will view.

First, going over the points made by the opposing side, the first thing that would come to mind regarding this matter, is that a one-year gap may result in a longer adaptation period for students in the university. In addition, this approach can yield into a decrease in students will to continue their academic journey. This attitude may be a result of working or taking too much time off scholar studies.

On the other hand, the advocates of this manner would say that having a one-year gap before higher education studies, could help the university candidates to start this chapter of their life with a clearer mindset which was obtained by having time to think about their future. Additionally, this gap could benefit students who use this free-time to go on a vacation. By doing this they could face their new challenges with more energy and a more positive attitude.

While both of these viewpoints seem feasible, in my humble opinion, it is a matter of one’s preference when facing a new challenge. Some would prefer some time off before continuing their studies and some would like to start right away. From my standpoint I would like to be able to start as soon as possible because this gap might result into laziness in me, but this is not the case for everybody Hence I believe that this choice is a matter of one’s character and preference.