ou should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In today’s modern world, there is an increasing argument in terms of whether long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits must be made to do voluntary work as a way of giving something back to their community. This essay is going to discuss the societal responsibilities, individual development, and the connection between welfare assistance and community contribution.

Some people argue that it is mandatory for unemployed people who receive amenities from the government to do voluntary jobs. Firstly, it would be beneficial for the individuals as it would help them to stay engaged and active in a fruitful way, encouraging a sense of purpose and worth about themselves. Secondly, it would enable the individuals to learn the tasks that they do during the voluntary work.

From the community perspective, it is compulsory for job-seekers to indulge in voluntary work because it would help these individuals to contribute to the welfare and the progress of the society in which they are living. This would be considered an act of gratitude for receiving benefits and assistance from the government, thus creating a good rapport between the individuals and the community.

However, many people argue that imposing mandatory voluntary work could have negative effects on the persons. Forced participation could lead to a lack of genuine enthusiasm and hard work. It could also lead to the exploitation of the vulnerable population in terms of long work hours with really low or no salary at all and having to perform tasks which are in contrast to their line of interest.

In conclusion, the question of whether long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits should be obliged to undertake voluntary work while simultaneously receiving government benefits is a complex and debated topic. Creating a balance between individual rights, community needs, and volunteerism is of extreme importance. Possibly, a borderline could be made by encouraging voluntary work rather than mandating it so that the individual and the community are equally benefited by this collaborative approach.