ou should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is common to see in many countries that governments are spending huge sums to ensure the welfare of those who were in public service for a long period. At this juncture, some suggest that those who seek such jobs should render some voluntary service to society before assuming such jobs. I think this is a brilliant idea.

The first reason why I think such services are needed is because of the favorable environment which governments provide to these job-seekers. For example, many governments provide free education at least till the secondary level to their immediate families. So, a person can give back to communities by providing free tuition services to the neighborhood. By this action families who could not afford tuition fees can benefit from this action.

Another reason for my agreement is because of the extra benefits they receive when compared to other citizens. Health allowances, monthly or annual financial benefits, and travel and entertainment allowances are some of the numerous benefits they receive during their service and post-retirement. Only a few spend this money to serve their own societies or fellow beings. At this stage, very few of them are in a position to involve in active social service. Therefore, it is wise to avail of their service when they are productive, that is before entering the job.

In conclusion, despite some criticisms, I feel as a responsible citizen, a permanent job-seeker needs to show his social responsibility by doing some volunteer works in the society during his productive age