Overpopulation in many urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

One of the major issue around the world is the overgrowing number of population in many of its urban centers. This is mainly because of the lack of job opportunities and proper public transportation outside the area. One way to address this issue is for the government to work together with companies in providing the equal career opportunities in rural areas.

An uneven number of job opportunities between the city and the rural are one of the most significant factor contributing to the city’s overpopulation. Many companies are built within the city only, and these companies tend to regulate that their employee work onsite, which means they are not allowed to work remotely. Therefore, these employees have to move there since a lot of them cannot afford to travel back-to-back from their hometown to their office on a daily basis. This can be seen from a 2021 survey by the Jakarta government that nearly 52% of people who reside in Jakarta city are immigrants who are also an employee of the company located there.

Additionally, these urban centers are likely to have better public facilities such as transportation. It can be seen that in Jakarta area, the citizens have varied means of public transport such as buses and trains, allowing them to reach every part of the city in an affordable price. As a result, it is more convenient for them to live there instead of living in the rural areas where the options are more limited.

A possible solution would be for the government to cooperate with companies, providing more job opportunities in rural areas. These employments should be appealing and equal in both benefits and long-term opportunities that are available in the urban areas. Therefore, people do not have to move to the city anymore since they can have work directly in their own hometown. For example, local government can work with agricultural companies on researching and growing the land to have better crops.

In conclusion, uneven career prospects and a more sufficient transport system are the reasons why overpopulation are happening in urban centers, and this essay suggests that the government and companies work together to provide a better job opportunities in the rural areas.