Overpopulation in many urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Urban life has long been attracted people moving to cities and residing there due to its convenience and job opportunities. However, this trend has resulted in significant overpopulation, creating crowed and stressful living environments. This issue is not limited to a particular nation but can be observed across the globe. This essay will discuss the main reasons of this phenomenon and suggest possible solutions.

The main reason of overpopulation in urban areas is that people could have higher chances to access to better job. Since city centre is the heart of economic activities and office operation, there are many jobs provided to people to earn their living and maintain a sustainable quality of life. People can easily find a job that match their skills, as the labour market is diverse that employ people from all levels, such as lower-skilled occupations, medium manageable positions, and leadership roles. Given the abundant job opportunities and higher salary, increasing number of people who live in rural areas migrates to cities, which contribute to crowing environments.

To solve the situation, the authorities should encourage economic development in suburbs. By promoting economic growth in other areas, job opportunities will be spread across the country, preventing economic activities overconcentrated in one region and encouraging people move to other places. This approach not only releases the land and job pressure on urban areas but also facilitates the investment on rural areas and contributes to a more equal social development. In the longer term, the gap between city and rural area in terms of economy, education, and living quality can be narrowed.

In sum, while overpopulation is a complex issue that cannot be solved immediately, small progress can be made if the government could start with encouraging investment in local regions.