Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify two serious ones and suggest ways that the government and individuals can tackle these problems.

Society is facing myriad issues as a result of the rapid increment in population in urban areas. The main problems this causes are pollution and traffic congestion, and developing rural areas and increasing the cost of living can be the most viable solutions.

Inordinate numbers of people living in large cities can potentially be the main reason for the pollution of the atmosphere and surroundings. As almost everyone has private vehicles, which are the major sources of fumes, together with those individuals who litter, this can undoubtedly lead to contamination of cities’ environments. Another issue is that getting to the needed place is becoming a survival issue as a result of traffic jams on the roads. Ownership of at least one transport for each resident and their daily utilization don’t give them an opportunity to get somewhere in a short time. For example, in the most developed urban areas of some countries, rush hours last from 2 to 8 hours, being the most significant drawback of that city.

To tackle these problems, governments should increase the cost of habitation in those regions. That includes accommodation, nutrition, or other implements’ prices, which are immensely essential for living. Those who aren’t able to afford them will perhaps leave those regions. Advancing the countryside or other undeveloped cities can potentially attract urban residents to move to those regions, preventing overpopulation. For instance, in Kazakhstan, near the city Almaty, which is the most populated city, with the rapid progression of the rural area called Kaskelen, people are mostly preferring to live there than in Almaty.

In conclusion, the excess number of inhabitants is a major issue that can result in having no space to travel by car and pollution; however, it can be addressed through increasing habitation’s price and progressing countryside conditions.