Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify two serious ones and suggest ways that the government and individuals can tackle these problems.

The rapid urbanization observed in recent decades has led to dramatic overpopulation of urban centers, resulting in countless issues. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the problems, such as environmental pollution and infrastructural disorganization, caused by the rising number of citizens and also to recommend some solutions.

Firstly, overcrowding significantly contributes to environmental degradation. The high concentration of population in urban areas causes the rise of waste and air pollution, and in some situations, the destruction of biotopes. For instance, in Almaty, the concentration of CO2 in the air is at its highest level because of the large amount of vehicles; besides this, several types of animals have migrated because of urbanization, ruining their habitats. To alleviate this, governments should develop green energy resources and make new laws about protecting and restoring the environment. Additionally, individuals can adopt eco-friendly habits such as recycling waste, using public transportation, and using energy-efficient appliances.

Secondly, population density has increased speedily, leading to the need for a large number of buildings and constructions for different purposes in a comparatively short time. As a result, infrastructures are constructed without a specific urban planning scheme. For example, Astana, as a sharply rising city, has good infrastructure however, without proper planning, this creates new problems such as traffic jams, a lack of sidewalks and pedestrian roads. Governments can tackle this problem with laws that demand strict compliance with planning, the prohibition of illegal building, and the creation of agglomerations (new towns near the megapolis). An example of this solution is Paris, where illegal construction is forbidden and which has 8 agglomerations.

In conclusion, overpopulation in urban areas presents significant challenges, particularly in terms of environmental pollution and infrastructure disorder. To address these issues, governments should create agglomerations and enforce environmental policies, while individuals should adopt methods that help the environment.