Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify two serious ones and suggest ways that the government and individuals can tackle these problems.

More and more professions from rural areas are choosing to live and work in urban areas for better opportunities, which has led to significant problems like overpopulation. However, these can be tackled if the government and people cooperate with each other.

The main problem associated with overpopulation in urban areas is environmental damage. As cities become more crowded, there will be an increase in demand for resources such as water, electricity, and food. This will result in an overconsumption of natural resources, contributing to air and water pollution. Moreover, the waste production in populated areas is generally high, as compared to the waste management, leading to most parts of the city being littered. Not only does this cause human illnesses such as asthma and other respiratory problems, but also has a negative impact on the natural habitats.

The government can take major steps to tackle this issue of overpopulation in urban areas. Firstly, the government can invest in education and infrastructure in rural areas, which will provide an opportunity for the low-income groups to have a better lifestyle and increased standard of living. As a result, they will have a greater understanding of their job and feel secure. In addition to this, the government should also make sure that all the residents of rural areas should also have access to basic healthcare services. For example, Delhi, India’s capital, faced the same issue 5 years ago as people from nearby rural areas started crowding the city. In order to tackle this issue, the government invested in the infrastructure of the rural areas, which helped to decrease overpopulation in the city.

In conclusion, overpopulation in urban areas can lead to numerous problems, however, this issue can be tackled if the government and individuals come together.