Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. What serious problems has this caused and what should governments and individuals do to tackle these problems. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Due to development of medicine and improvement of living conditions population has grown rapidly last century, especially in urban areas. Unfortunately, it can lead to several problens which will be discussed in this essay.

The main consequence of overpopulation is lack of real estate in cities: overpriced flats, lack of space for construction of new buildings. As urban dwellers flock to cities in search of better opportunities, the demand for housing has skyrocketed.To solve this problem, the government can support towns subsidizing money for the development of the region or build high buildings with large capacity. For example, I’m planning to move to Canada and I know that even the locals don’t have enough housing, so rental prices are among the highest in the world. However, the Canadian government is actively recruiting specialists from all over the world to construct new buildings, providing better working conditions for this class of workers.

Another problem is traffic jams in the city center; sometimes people spend 2-3 hours a day getting to work. This not only diminishes productivity but also contributes to increased pollution levels. Of course, you can offer people to work online, but for offline workers the state can continue to develop public transport and build highways to relieve congestion on the roads.