Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems. Write at least 250 words.

Urban areas have become crowded because of the increasing population. As a result, people face various problems, such as traffic jams during rush hours and insufficient school spaces. The government should address these problems by improving transportation services and constructing more schools.

People who have private vehicles suffer from traffic in big cities. For example, the commute time in metropolises can be twice as long as in small cities or the countryside. Urban areas often become technical and educational centers of the country, therefore, this problem makes living less comfortable for a large number of working people and students. Another problem is a lack of schools in urban areas. Despite the number of schools being high, it is still not enough for overpopulated cities. Many children have to study in conditions of three shifts at school. It follows that the quality of teaching is declining.

Initially, the government should focus on public transport convenience to encourage society to switch from cars to public transport. For instance, as part of the route network development, the LRT system can solve many commuters’ issues. In the case of schools, there is only one solution – planning and building new schools throughout the metropolitan areas. A high number of schools can present new challenges, and to prevent this, the government can collaborate with universities to ensure that schools will have a teacher pool in the future.

In conclusion, overcrowding in urban areas creates serious challenges, such as traffic congestion and a shortage of schools, that can be solved by transforming the transport system and strategic investment in education infrastructure.