Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, the problem of excessive number of residents in cities has emerged as a significant challenge. If left unaddressed, this trend risks causing severe long-term consequences for the environment and people themselves. Fortunately, several effective measures can be implemented to mitigate the situation, which will be discussed below.

One of the most influential problems of overpopulation is traffic congestion. This, in turn, may exert a notable influence on people’s lives. For instance, not only are traffic jams in Moscow and Sochi time-consuming and inconvenient for some people but they also impact behavioral patterns by forcing people to go to work, to school or to university early in order not to be late. Furthermore, if the neighborhood is overpopulated, it makes the authorities erect more factories, amenities and facilities, while the use of cars is accelerated. This can result in detrimental consequences for the environment, including air contamination, deforestation and animal habitat loss: conventional cars emit exhaust fumes, trees can be cut down to make the way for new constructions and factories leave a carbon footprint, which contribute to the environment negatively. If necessary measures are not taken, the situation will deteriorate in the future. This demonstrates that there is a wide range of issues triggered by overpopulation.

To tackle these problems, the governments can improve the quality of living in rural areas to encourage citizens to move there. While substantial funds can be allocated to healthcare, education and places of accommodation, the infrastructure should be developed as well. Moreover, access to the internet should become ubiquitous in the villages as it is indispensable in the contemporary world. Beyond investments, the authorities can also launch programmes on TV and social media, raising awareness about benefits of moving to rural areas. If these measures are paired together, the problem of overpopulation in urban areas would likely alleviate and more people would probably decide to move there. This shows that numerous effective measures should be taken to combat the problem of excessive population in cities.

In conclusion, while the issue of overpopulated cities is currently widespread, the governments should stimulate individuals to move to the countryside by improving the quality of living there. Otherwise, the problem may aggravate.