• Parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. • What are the reasons for this? • Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, there are many parents who put significant pressure as an expectation on their children to become successful people not only in academic education but also in many aspects of life. This essay will first explore the reasons behind this common phenomenon and then argue that parents may have good intentions, however, intense pressure is ultimately a negative development.

There are numerous reasons that explain why parents exert pressure on their offspring. The first key factor driving this behavior is the competition in the global economy. Many parents see that today’ job market demands higher qualifications and specific skills from employees. As a result, they believe that their children should have a high academic performance and participate in numerous extracurricular activities to gain more experiences in order to boost their career prospects. In addition, comparisons with peers may also contribute to the pressure parents place on their children. In many countries, especially Asian countries, children’ achievements are seen as a reflection of their family. Therefore, many children have to study to become teachers, doctors, lawyers and so on, not because of their intrinsic motivation.

Unfortunately, this phenomenon can lead to more various negative effects than positive ones. First and foremost, a lot of pressure that parents put on their offspring may push them into psychological well-being issues. When they spend too much time on studying and training, they may not have time to take a break or clear their mind. If this situation happens for a long time, children may suffer from some serious mental health issues such as stress, anxiety, burnout and so on. Moreover, children who always stay at home or class to study do not have time to make friends or play outside. Consequently, they may not have beautiful memories in their childhood or any social skills and become more introverted.

In conclusion, although parents just want their children to have a better future, they should not put intense pressure on their offspring in a negative way. Instead of that, in my opinion, they should enhance both academic education and essential social skills for a children’s comprehensive development.