Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

The ongoing debate that parents are responsible for obesity in children is very controversial. This essay agrees with this statement because parents are responsible for maintaining a balanced diet for their children and keeping them healthy.

Parents hold responsibility to feed a healthy and balanced diet to their children. They need to make it a norm in their house of eating homemade foods that are good for the body. The dependence on junk food and sweets is quite common, especially among the kids, and it is the duty of mothers and fathers to prevent such addictions in them. They should exercise eating healthy in their households and develop a habit of eating healthy in their young ones. They should mitigate the intake of sweets and instead in-co-operate fruits and vegetable into their meals. Mother and fathers need to be aware that these chips and junk food are the number one cause of obesity in children.

Parents need to understand the side effects of obesity in general, and its prevention in children. The adage, “obesity is the mother of all diseases” should be acknowledged by the parents so that they can work towards its prevention in their offspring. Obesity increases the risk of heart problems and diabetes in people and is the leading cause of early death among the population. Obesity is a disease that is easily preventable by some lifestyle modifications, such as exercise and a balanced diet.

I would like to conclude this essay by maintaining my stance that parents need to be held accountable for obesity in children and should be punished for not enforcing a healthy lifestyle to them. They need to be more knowledgeable about obesity and the health hazards it causes in people.