Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that parents of overweight children should be penalized for making them fat. This essay agrees with this statement because parental negligence causes children to suffer from health and and bullying issues.

As parents are primary caregivers of their offsprings it is important that they keep a check on what is being consumed by them. Allowing them to eat whatever they feel like will result in health issues. Therefore, parents should instill healthy eating habits and encourage their children to adopt activities like excercising etc. Whilst growing up my parents would ensure that we would go to parks every Sunday so that we could indulge in different sports such as cycling and rollerblading. Not only was it a fun way to excercise, it also helped in inculcating the concept that there is more to life than just eating food.

Another reason as to why parents should be reprimanded for their children’s weight issues is because it leads to bullying and body image issues. Young people who suffer from weight problems are often bullied in school resulting in low self esteem. Moreover, bullying creates a lasting impact on how their personalities are shaped and their outlook towards life. For instance, if an obese child was made fun off at school, chances are that they might not like going to school any more and would prefer to stay alone resulting in social anxiety and them not performing well academically.

To conclude, I do believe that parents play a very huge role in what kind of foods their children are consuming and therefore, should be chastised for their offspring’s body weight problems. Letting them eat whatever they want will bring about momentarily happiness but it will leave a lasting impact on a person’s health.