Parents should not pressure their children to choose a particular profession. Young people should have the freedom to choose a career path they like. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Choosing a career is one of the most difficult choices in a person’s life. Some people believe that teenagers should do it for themselves and be able to choose any career they like. Although I agree with the statement, I think that they need help, but in the form of advice.

On the one hand, sometimes children do not know which profession to choose. There is a wide range of careers, and it is really easy to get confused. According to the statistics, over 60% of Russian students have not chosen their future jobs. Therefore, parents should discuss this topic with their children and suggest some well-paid and engaging careers. Maybe it will help to speed up the process of choosing and will give more time for preparation to the student.

But on the other hand, if a child has freedom, some students could choose a strange and unpopular profession, which will not give them any opportunities for career advancement. It can cause stress for parents, quarrels and misunderstandings in the family, and so on. For example, the career of a plumber is useful, but it is quite low- paid and it does not offer any development prospects. Of course, it could be a better job, but anyway, parents should at least a little control their children’s choices.

Overall, I can say that choosing a career should not happen without control or help. It is one of the main choices, and a person cannot do it by themself.