Parents should spend more time with their children helping them with their homework . Do you agree or disagree?

Experts from various nations have debated whether parents should spend more time helping children with their homework or not. At the same time, some argue that it is not needed, but I firmly believe that they should spend more time together which will not only help children to improve their performance, but also it will help to bond them with their parents. Extensive research has been conducted offering both supportive and opposing viewpoints.

To Begin with, parents can have close monitoring of their children’s performance and their areas of improvement, and they can help them perform well in those subjects by guiding and sharing best practices they have used. Research which was conducted in 2021 describes that there is a 40% growth in children’s academic records when they practice their subjects or tasks with parents. This clearly demonstrates that parents should get involved with children during their homework as much as they can.

Furthermore, in today’s busy era where both parents are working to fulfil the family needs, it is hard to get quality time to spend with family, especially with their children. Due to this, they have a lack of emotional bond and understanding, resulting in depression, and loneliness, and sometimes it can lead to serious life-threating issues like suicide and, addictions. Doing homework together can give an opportunity to establish a level of understanding to overcome the abovementioned issues. Research from the university of Singapore shows children who have healthy bonds and relationships with their parents are more open to discussing their problems rather than suffering alone and slipping into depression. Consequently, quality time with children helps their parents to understand and resolve issues before it get escalate to a serious level.

In conclusion, the question of whether parents should spend more time with children during their homework or not is complex nonetheless, I strongly advocate for spending more time which promotes mental health and confidence to open up. The evidence presented supports the idea of parents giving more time to children. Therefore, I firmly believe in the same.