People after retirement often require financial assistance. Some think the government should be responsible for this, while others believe individuals should make provisions for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As older people do not have employment after retirement, they need financial support. It is thought that this is the responsibility of governments, whereas others argue that they themselves should support their needs. While providing funds to elderly puts pressure on public funds, I believe that they should be provided grants by officials.

On the one hand, spending money on the welfare of older individuals requires a large amount of money. This is because many countries have more aging population comapred to workforce. Hence, annully generated revenue is insufficient to meet demands, resulting in diverting money from essential services like education and healthcare. Consequently, the overall quality of life would reduce. For instance, international young residents are frequently invited by Germany since it has most of the citizens are over sixty, which leads to the shortage of workers. Therefore, people should discover methods to fullfil their own requirements. However, in my opinion, they do not have sufficient strenth and endurance to perform professional work.

On the other hand, officials should take the responsibility of elderly. The main reason for this is that they pay taxes throughout their working life as a form of both GST and income tax in order to increase national’s budgets. Thus, at a decline stage of age, when they are unable to work because of diseases and unemployment, authorities should provide assistance to their citizens. For instance, the Indian government has enacted a policy that indicates that elder people are provided pensions that helps them to afford livelihood. For these reasons, I am of the opinion that, owing to leadership and control over resources, authorities should financially assist vulnerable people.

In conclusion, although devoting national money to the care of older people causes burden on other public facilities, from my perspective, they should receive monetary help from officials since it is their human right.