People after retirement often require financial assistance. Some think the government should be responsible for this, while others believe individuals should make provisions for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is known that some individuals need financial support after retirement. Some argue that government should provide helps, others think that retires should be independent. Although some people can be financial independent, most of them must be helped due to the high taxes paid in previous years.

Some people may be willing to be independent in term of living costs. This is because of high salaries or huge heredities they have, or they manage their incomes accurately, by saving money or investing it in real estate or financial products. For instance, there are several pension and accumulated funds, where you can pay a small amount monthly, in order to have a large capital after 30 or 40 years at the maturity date. However, I think that the majority of people cannot afford to invest because of their lack of savings and some of them do not have money enough to survive with their salaries.

On the other side, Governments must provide financial assistance because some people pay lots of taxes when they work. Workers remain with fewer money to live, using most of them for living expenses. For this reason, some may risk getting into poverty or and bankruptcy. For example, in Italy, an entrepreneur pay around 45% of taxes, excluding insurance and health assistance, which are deducted from profits. This means that approximately 50% of the overall profit remains and people may suffer during their spending decisions, reducing their consumption and making a life full of sacrifices. I believe that governments should introduce financial incentives to improve the welfare of these individuals.

In conclusion, wealthy people may be willing to be independent due to their high income, but for the others, who paid lot of taxes throughout the years of work, governments should intervene assisting them financially.