People after retirement often require financial assistance. Some think the government should be responsible for this, while others believe individuals should make provisions for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The past few decades have witnessed a remarkable rise in the population at every old-age home, as senior citizens often survive with a lack of money for their shelter and medical needs. It is believed by a certain group of people that the government should take care for the retired individuals, while others disagree with this notion, and are convinced that it is individuals’ responsibility to invest some amount of their earnings for their older age. I firmly agree with the foremost opinion, as people can live a stress free life, if they do not have to worry about their latter age.

To commence with the first opinion, proponents of the government operated pension scheme argue that maintaining a wealthy and stress free lifestyle, is only possible when people have the freedom to spend all of their earnings for the present, rather than investing for the future. For instance, a developed country Canada is well-known worldwide for its free healthcare facility and pension scheme for the senior citizens, providing Canadians with a sense of relaxation. Furthermore, the number of living years and the cost of medical treatments required for individuals at their old age is not anticipatable, thus saving exact amount of money is impossible for everyone. As a result, elderly people often become burden for their family members, leading to family conflicts.

On the other hand, opponents of the government pension policy argue that it enhances financial burden for the government, resulting in poor services in other sectors such as education, transportation, and many more, because senior citizens are not productive for the growth of the national economy. Additionally, if individuals are only responsible for their old age’s desires then they are likely to become more self independent.

To encapsulate, although the self provisions can help to reduce the financial pressure for the government, I believe that the government should take care of the elderly people, so that they can live a tension free life, and the exact cost and the time period for their treatment is totally unpredictable.