People aged 16 to 18 should be allowed to vote in elections.

Nowadays, the subject of voter engagement appears to be crucial since turnout in elections is extremely low all over the World. However, I don’t think we should let teenagers of any age vote. In my opinion, it might have a negative impact on their lives and, moreover, undermine electoral systems worldwide.

Firstly, despite the lack of people who are willing to exercise their right to freely choose political leaders, people aged 16 to 18 are not adults, whose level of responsibility is significantly higher. Teenagers are not obliged to work and pay taxes, thus their role in political life seems slightly irrelevant. In addition, young people who are focused on getting high-quality education and strengthening their social connections with the outer world are likely to grow up as citizens with high political awareness, which might increase voter turnout in the elections in the long term.

Secondly, allowing young people to vote might lead to inaccuracies in election results. Teenagers could easily fall under the influence of propaganda, since most of them are too immature and inexperienced to analyze that huge amount of information pouring from TV channels and social media. Candidates are prone to launching aggressive election campaigns that often include misleading data and manipulative tricks. While grown-ups are able to sort things out, for teenagers it might become quite challenging.

In conclusion, I believe people aged 16 to 18 should spend their time studying at a college and improving their social skills instead of occupying their thoughts with the political life of a country. Only a well-educated society can grow up and choose effective and talented leaders.