People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

The progressive consumption of sugary drinks is a major topic in modern society. Individuals are consuming sugary beverages progressively more. This essay will elaborate on the primary culprits rendering this phenomenon and then propose viable remedies to tackle the problem.

On the one hand, there are a number of rationales that trigger the increasing consumption of sweetened beverages. The immediate cause of this issue is that this kind of drink provides humans with energy directly which helps them increase mental alertness and maintain concentration at work. For example, workers drink sugar beverages such as Red Bull to stay awake and increase productivity throughout the night. Another contributing factor is the beverage industry is growing day by day, so soft drink companies promote their new products through various advertising campaigns. This is mainly because these advertisements attract social members with vivid sound and visuals, thereby making them curious about those advertised products and purchase more.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned reasons, I believe that several measures should be taken to mitigate the situation. One efficacious remedy is that raise awareness among consumers about the negative effects of sugar-based drinks. This is understandable because governments should propagate the harmful influences of sugar drinks on health and encourage the consumption of healthy products. As a result, they would probably limit the habit of drinking sugary beverages to protect their health. Another approach would be for governments to implement new laws which limit the appearance of sugary beverage advertisements. For instance, national authorities should prohibit soft-drink commercials of Coca and Pepsi in rush hours, resulting in a reduction in exposure to these intriguing advertisements. Thus, the demands and temptations of sweetened beverages can be reduced.

In conclusion, although the growing consumption of sugary beverages can stem from many causes, there are a number of workable solutions to counteract this problem.