people are living longer after they retire. whta are the problems? what can be done to solve the problem?

There is no denying that following the departure from their workplace, people experience an extended lifespan. This trend contributes to economic crisis such as an additional expanses for pensioners and a strain on healthcare. However, by increasing the retirement age and encouraging private savings, these problems can effectively be tackled.

The most obvious issue that longer longevity after the retirement brings about is pension crisis. Although most of the countries can provide pensioners with sufficient funding, it can be regarded as a financial burden. Instead, this money would beneficially allocated to more pivotal areas such as infrastructure, healthcare, and education. Additionally, increased lifespan may result in issues associated with health. For instance, ageing is linked to numerous illnesses and higher rates of chronic conditions like heart disease. As a result, it leads to escalating public and private costs. A prime example of this can be seen in Japan, where an ageing has strained the national budget, forcing the government to prioritize old people’s medical care over crucial emergencies.

However, there are a number of ways by which these issues can be resolved. One effective measure would be prolonging the retirement age. If people remained in employment for a longer period compared to the standard age for leaving the workplace, they would earn their own money rather than rely completely on pensions, which could effectively be invested in the critical sectors. Furthermore, it would keep them physically active, preventing alienation and monotony at home. Another solution, one that further strengthens the first one, is promoting private savings, where people save money independently instead of rely on state funding. Employers and banks could encourage people to contribute a small percentage of their salary to the pension fundings from an early age. As a result, people could become financially independent, ensuring the long-term fiscal security, and reduce the financial burden placed on governments.

In conclusion, the main problems a longer lifespan after retiring causes are unreasonable pension fundings and pressure on healthcare systems. To mitigate these problems, government should impose a new retirement age schemes and encourage people to save money independently.