People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve these problems?

It is common to see that life after retirement is lasting longer for many individuals.This could have a number of undesirable consequences which could be addressed with several different approaches.

When the lifespan of men and women after retirement is increasing, two main problems can occur. Firstly, social isolation and loss of purpose in life are much higher when they stay without a daily work routine, and depression episodes caused by a dramatic narrowing of the social circle are significantly higher than in other circumstances. Because most pensioners are comparatively more sensitive to external factors and have emotional dependence on their relatives and close friends, it is easy for serious psychological injuries to occur when they encounter an absence of obligations and attention from others, usually far more serious than just being overwhelmed by upsetting news. Secondly, there are many inconveniences for those seniors when battling chronic diseases requiring constant treatment. They may end up in poverty due to continuously buying overpriced medications. This is an obvious common challenge that can be seen in many European regions, where a lot of retired citizens still have to suffer from loneliness and steadily growing medical bills.

In order to deal with such problems, there are two solutions that should be taken into consideration. First of all, for individuals stuck in a repetitive routine without bright events, there should be volunteer projects aimed at offering new friendships and common goals. While visiting such clubs, elderly people can better provide for their personal leisure, and, in the event of finding new acquaintances, the desperate feeling will be significantly less than before.In the second instance, it is necessary for the government to support old people by providing free coupons for doctor visits, providing for 20% of the payment for their medical preparations. For example, the city of Novozelenovsk in Russia created a specialized program on free treatment for the aged. They can achieve a visit with the expert, avoiding burdening their family.

In conclusion, after retiring, people are living longer, which leads to several issues, such as social isolation and a diminished sense of purpose in life and an inability to afford drugs for the treatment of chronic diseases, while these problems can be prevented by volunteer initiatives designed to foster new friendships and shared goals and by government assistance to elderly people through free coupons for doctor visits and coverage of 20% of the cost of their medical prescriptions.