People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives.Do you think the positive effects of this overweight the negative effects?

In recent times, the number of advertisements has grown significantly and they have begun to affect people’s lives. However, there are some positive sides of this trend such as helping people to find a product which they were looking for, in my opinion, the negative effects are more crucial and outweigh the positive ones.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that, during the last 2 decades, with the help of newly developed methods such as Artificial Intelligence models, the advertising sector has developed a lot. Subsequently, because of those techniques, the advertising companies could be able to promote people to more appropriate products, resulting in the help to society in finding the things that they wanted. For example, when people research Google about any tool that they seek to buy, due to the machine learning models, they face advertisements of that tool at various prices, leading to saving people the time that they would waste in making a deep search for the one that they could afford. This is undoubtedly one of the repercussions of this trend. But is this the whole truth although?

While factoring in the consequences of this trend, it would be subjective if we do not pay attention to the extreme drawbacks caused by convincing people to buy the product even if they do not need it. In other words, most of the advertising companies are just making advertisements without caring that it can cause money wasted by people. For instance, new smartphone models are introduced every year and due to the convincing power of these products’ advertisements, most people think that they need to buy these products and there are a lot of new facilities in it. Thus, people are wasting the money which they earn with hard work for hours.

To conclude, although some of the effects of advertisement are positive, under no circumstances would I believe that their benefits outweigh their drawbacks since, just for earning more money, advertising companies convince people to buy a product that they do not need.