People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives.Do you think the positive effects of this overweight the negative effects?

In recent years, the debate over the influences of advertising on our lives has gained significant attention. While some potential benefits could be yielded in some aspects, I hold a firm belief that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there is a plethora of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that advertising would yield plenty of potential benefits. On an individual level, advertising informs individuals about the existence of new products, therefore gives customers a wide range of choices before making a purchase. Moreover, various means of job opportunities such as marketing, graphic design, and so on resulting from the ubiquitous of advertisements could directly contribute to the promotion of each individual’s income. Considering the benefit of manufacturing themselves, advertising contributes to a great deal in the increase in sales of products. By creating buzz and excitement around product launches and promotions, advertising stimulates consumer interest and drives immediate sales. In addition, companies these days can easily inform their clients about recently updated products through multimedia platforms like Facebook and Instagram, which helps save a great deal of time and expense compared to traditional methods like newspapers or magazines.

On the other hand, the popularity of advertising could be fraught with pitfalls. The first shortcoming of advertising is that it will increase the price of the products due to the advertising fees and customers are those who pay for this extra cost. Furthermore, advertising may manipulate buyers into buying unnecessary items, leading to debt and financial insecurity. Last but not least, some companies make false claims to customers by exaggerating the real quality of the product. For example, some cosmetic adverts may mislead customers that by using their product, people would be young forever regardless of time. However, in fact, this turns out to be one of the marketing strategies of the company.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that excessive advertising could give rise to a host of negative ramifications, I strongly believe that the positive impacts it brings to both customers and companies are more significant than it downside. However, It is imperative for individuals to take the product into account before making a purchase to maximize the benefits while minimize the drawbacks.