People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, a large number of language translation platforms on the internet are widely utilised by many individuals. While this trend may possess certain disadvantages, I believe that using translation software online will provide more strengths than weaknesses.

One possible major drawback of this development is that users are exposed to abuse. This is because Internet-based language translation apps have an easy-to-use interface and many people strongly trust in translation technology, so it might be lazy for users and cause them to over-reliance on online translation platforms. For example, many students allocate a large amount of time to use translation software in study languages, leading to loss of their ability to self-study and slow development in the learning process. As a consequence, online language translation apps unintentionally become an obstacle in each student’s language learning.

Despite the aforementioned disadvantages, I contend that they pale in comparison with any advantages this development may bring. The primary benefit is in terms of the time factor. Instead of looking up new words in language translation books, people can access online translation apps easily, which can translate content quickly and instantaneously, because the popularity of the internet and technology is indisputable nowadays. Another advantage is improving communication problems. A lot of translation apps are increasingly improving and developing, so they can translate almost all languages in the world exactly. Therefore, these software provide the ability to communicate efficiently with other foreigners in some situations. For instance, in a multinational meeting, translation applications play an important role because it helps individuals understand the content in this meeting. Hence, online translators can help humans in many aspects.

In conclusion, although online language interpretation applications make people rely on it too much, I believe it is more beneficial to use them because they can save time and communicate more efficiently. Hence, it is recommended that people should commonly use translation apps but do not overuse it.