People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons

A university offers the highest level of education as well as valuable degree required for the students to build their careers. University degrees are essential for the job market, to be versed in a specialised field or to be prepared for the further educations. People attend colleges or universities for lots of different reasons. In my opinion, three most common reasons for people to join a college or a university are to prepare for a prospective career, to have new experiences, and to increase their knowledge. But there are some other reasons like improving the current job position, to be specialised in a specific subject, to earn a degree to join a job or run a business etc.

Career preparation is probably the primary and most important reason for people to attend colleges and universities. A college or university degree gives more opportunity to have a full-time and stable job. In comparison, a university degree holder is offered a better job that pays better than others. The job market is very competitive now a day compared to any other time in past. Careers such as telecommunication, information technologies etc. need many new employees. At colleges and universities, students can learn new skills for these careers and increase their opportunities for the future. In the whole academic years, the students learn not only the theory but also practical aspects of their future job needs. The universities prepare a structured and coherent syllabus for the students and without these experience and knowledge, it is almost impossible for anyone to make himself prepared for the job and the knowledge he/she required for the specified job position.

Students also go to colleges or universities to have new experiences. For many, it is their first time away from home and they have to live among strangers. At colleges, they meet new people from many different places, races and cultures. They can see what life is from a different perspective. They can learn to live on their own and take care of them without having their family always nearby. The students have lots of opportunities to face the real-life situations while staying at a college or university. They learn to face the harsh situation, learn to treat the superiors, learn how to work to gain a desire aspiration, learn to work as a team member and so on. In short, colleges and universities offer so many different experiences that a student cannot get from anywhere else.

At colleges and universities, students have the opportunity to increase their knowledge about technology, art, history, about themselves and outer world which are impossible to achieve staying outside the campus. As they decide what they want to study, pursue their studies, and interact with their classmates, they learn a lot about themselves. They also, of course, have the opportunity to learn about many subjects in their classes. In addition to the skills and knowledge related to their career, college students also have the chance to take classes in other areas. For many, this will be their last chance to study different subjects. Colleges offer much more than career preparation. They offer the opportunity to have new experiences and to learn many kinds of things.

Many job holders, housewives even businessmen get themselves admitted into universities or colleges for a diploma course. These courses are essential in many different perspectives, like: to learn a new technology (for example, computer-related diplomas), to train up for a new career (for example, photography courses), or to make them ready for more challenging jobs (for example, MBA in Agriculture). I think all these are major reasons why people attend colleges and universities.