People click pictures of themselves when they travel to famous places. Discuss causes and os the trend negative and positive?

The emergence of Social Media has impacted the behaviour an individual showcases during the excursions. Many a times the visitors are more interested in clicking selfies than admiring the beauty or richness of the location they are visiting. Viewing tourist attraction through camera lens finds more priority than experiencing the place with own eyes.

There can be numerous sources for the felt problem, but I would like to cite few reasons that might be root cause. Firstly, the younger generation particularly Gen Z are more interested in showing things off to their companions and colleagues. In some cases, people have a feeling that they would be judged by friends if they fail to regularly update the virtual media with latest events and activities. Lastly the availability of handy camera has eased task of clicking the photographs. To add to this, the high speed internet further shares the image with wider audience within a flick of eye.

The pattern seen in above scenario is alarming. Society has become more self-centric. They have forgot to admire and appreciate the objects surrounding them. The main purpose of visiting a tourist place to understand culture, admire rich heritage and acknowledge the plethora of landscape that nature has to offer is defeated and the destinations have become a mere photo studio.

To conclude, while it is completely understood to have a personal click as a memory of travel, subjects should also ensure that these acts strictly remains within boundaries with a true motive of tour is achieved.