Some people believe that children should be raised in a large family with many relatives, while others think a small, nuclear family is better for a child's development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that smaller households offer more benefits, others believe large families to be better. In my opinion, families with less members are greater in terms of both economic and personal aspects.

On the one hand, large households have a positive effect on individuals in several different aspects. Being surrounded by brothers and sisters throughout their childhood, they learn how to be cooperative and create strong bonds with their siblings through games or intimate conversations. Moreover, they gain knowledge on how to communicate more efficiently and acquire conflict solving skills. For example, it has been proven by research that adults who grew up in families with 2 or more children ended up having no problems with socializing or negotiating.

On the other hand, I believe that small families allow parents to provide their only child with more attention, better education and a closer relationship with them. Being an only child may of course have an effect on an individual and result in feelings of loneliness or isolation, however parents can devote themselves completely to their child and therefore develop a strong bond. Additionally, it would be easier to provide one child with a higher quality education, clothes and nutrition. For instance, being an only child allows you to go to several extra classes or sport clubs, when in larger families it might be a financial burden.

In conclusion, larger households can be beneficial in terms of developing communication skills through siblings’ relationships, when for smaller ones parents can focus all their attention on one child and provide them with everything necessary more easily, what I believe to be better.