Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a ongoing debate about technological advancement whether it is considered as tool that mitigate the number of crime incidents or it opens ways to commit crimes. While it is undisputable that cutting-edge devices aid in preventing possible illegal act and finding lawbreakers, however i side with those who argue that it paves the way to crime in many cases.

To start with, it is evident that the widespread availability of technology has enabled legislative body to detect unlawful act quickly. In other words, the availability of modern technology created phobia that holds criminals not to associate with criminal acts. For instance, CCTV camera are installed in every corner of many cities and they serve as surveillance. As a result people are afraid of committing crime as they know it is straightfoward to catch offenders. Furthermore, there are a wide range of new tools such as secret voice and video recorders and other types apps that can help individual to reveal criminals. Good example comes from prosecutors, they are often equipped with device that can identify possible unlawful acts.

On the flip side, enhancements in technology is creating a substantail chance for committing crime. The main reason of that the functions and qualities of the computers and applications are immense. Specifically, many offenders are doing cyber terrorism, hacking, scamming and spreading fake data. Admittedly, this is mainly due to the lack of digital literacy among individuals and criminals are using it as advantage. For example, many money transactions are done by online banking platforms and it is common to see many elderly people are being victims for scammers. Moreover, cybercriminals can create fake links and web pages and when people opens it, their personal data and banking details are leaked. As soon as they get the passwords they use it against them for the purpose of money.

To sum up, while the idea supported by those who think technology diminishes criminal activities is justified with some reasons, i share the same perspective as those who believe that the reverse is true. Therefore, the best approach would be increasing literacy of citizens about technology use and create apps or device which are safe.