Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While one school of thought holds that the number of crimes is declining due to technological evolution, others are of the opinion that this trend can lead to more crime. This essay will first closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I agree with the former.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people propose that technological boom can cause more crime. One drawback is that this trend creates many new types of crime like online crime. For example, offenders can advertise travelling with a little charge to mislead the elderly, who lack knowledge. This trend can lead to more opportunities for criminal activities, and many people are fooled without directly exposing the crime. In addition, the replacement of robots decreases chances of having a job for many people. Robots substitute workers in many jobs, especially repetitive work, so people now are increasingly unemployed. Due to this trend, many employees, who cannot meet the basic demands in their life and confront financial pressure, may easily turn to crime. However, in this technological era, many new jobs are being created so that people can earn their living and improve quality of life.

Notwithstanding these aforementioned arguments, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that technological advancement brings more benefits. Perhaps the foremost benefit is that this trend can help detect and prevent crimes more effectively. For example, lots of crimes are caught owing to advanced devices like camera systems or GPS navigation. When the criminals know they have more ability to be identified, they would reduce their intention. Moreover, technological development has significantly improved personal security. People now can use their phone with digital payment, safety alarm and biometric authentication instead of cash like in the past. Therefore, it is harder for criminals to gain access to their money, leading to reduction of many traditional types of crime such as pickpockets.