Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people believe that digital progress reduces crime, as new equipment in stores and shops serves as a deterrent, I strongly believe that it gives criminals more opportunities to commit crimes by deceiving people online.

On the one hand, technological advancements help prevent crime, as they serve as preventative measures. New technologies, including CCTV and 24-hour surveillance cameras with automated facial recognition and video quality enhancement tools, have made it much easier for the police to investigate criminal offences and find offenders. This reduces the number of crimes, as people are scared of getting caught and imprisoned. Furthermore, the presence of security cameras can discourage potential offenders from committing crimes, since they are aware that their actions are likely to be recorded and used as evidence against them.

However, while the new technology deters potential lawbreakers from committing a crime, it has also encouraged the emergence of digital crime. This new type of crime allows criminals, including fraudsters and scammers, to steal people’s money and personal information without getting caught. New technologies, such as artificial intelligence, allow culprits to change their voices and facial features, making their identification practically impossible. For example, they might call someone, claiming to be their relative, and ask for a significant amount of money that will allegedly help them avoid some serious troubles. As a result, many people can be deceived into losing their finances and revealing personal information, while believing they are helping their relatives.

In conclusion, while innovations in technology do help prevent some offences, they encourage even more crimes committed in the digital space. New feature-alteration tools make it difficult for law enforcement authorities to track criminals, which results in many people losing their money and personal information.